Connect
To Top

Meet Féi Hernandez

Today we’d like to introduce you to Féi Hernandez.

So, before we jump into specific questions about the business, why don’t you give us some details about you and your story.
I am an only child, raised by a single parent in Inglewood. I grew up undocumented. We immigrated from Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico.

I am a full-time 8th-grade creative writing and art teacher in Inglewood. Hood. I identify as trans non-binary.

Spiritual healer: Reiki master, tarot card reader, limpias de huevo. I am a performing poet, writer, visual artists. I perform across the LA area, but also out of the city as well.

Published essays, vignettes, and poems. Showcased artwork in various galleries, one of them being Galeria de la Raza for the #UndocuJoy exhibit curated by Yossimar Reyes.

We’re always bombarded by how great it is to pursue your passion, etc. – but we’ve spoken with enough people to know that it’s not always easy. Overall, would you say things have been easy for you?
It has not been a smooth road. It’s been a road I’ve had to pave. From desert land to a tall city, I’ve worked hard to change the elements.

-Racism, homophobia, transphobia, xenophobia.
-Opposition, heartbreak, and disappointments.
-Feelings of ostracization and erasure. Invisibility, but also hyper-visibility, exotification all at the same time.
-Resources were scarce growing up.
-Creative liberties.
-Father abandons my mother and I in a new country.
-Growing up in the hood.
-Scholarship denials because I didn’t have a social security number.
-White academia, toxic environment.

We’d love to hear more about what you do.
I am a performing poet, writer, visual artist, reiki master, tarot card reader, curandero de limpia de huevo. All of my multimodal gifts are for healing. For creating representation whether that’s for the world at large or for the individual to remember themselves. Specifically, I am for my queer communities of color.

I am known for my vulnerability, my expression—the many colors of my story. My ability to turn trauma into a mirror for the world to see themselves. I am courageous and take leaps of fate. I trust blindly, hustle hard, every day. I am open and caring.

I create space for others—I provide the mentorship, love and care that I did not receive in ways I needed to both growing up and my development in becoming the person I am today. I am innovative and think expansively for the betterment of my communities.

I am a huge social justice warrior and seek to provide resources. If there’s a void, I fill it. Free services for undocumented queer people of color.

What were you like growing up?
I was reserved, inquisitive, and alone for most of my upbringing. But I never needed anything. My mother hustled day and night so that I wouldn’t need anything. I hated reading—in a lot of ways I didn’t really understand it. English is not my native tongue.

I played video games, loved Pokémon cards, had a GameCube, Digimon figurines. Had a spiritual mentor since I was younger because of my spiritual sensibilities. Insecure, sensitive. I didn’t write or start drawing till high school.

Elementary, middle, and high school friends are still my homies.

Contact Info:

  • Website: Feihernandez.com
  • Phone: 310-908-8633
  • Email: f.hernandezlorenzana@gmail.com
  • Instagram: Fei.hernandez
  • Twitter: Feihernandez

Getting in touch: VoyageLA is built on recommendations from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you know someone who deserves recognition please let us know here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in