Connect
To Top

Meet Lunden Junious

Today we’d like to introduce you to Lunden Junious.

So, before we jump into specific questions, why don’t you give us some details about you and your story.
Jun is my artist name. Jun stems from one of my last names, throughout my entire life people calling me by my last names caused that to end up sticking with me. I am an only child raised by a single mother, rest her soul. Keisha Junious, also known as “Stiletto”, a name given to her by her Motorcycle biker club She passed away in 2015 in a motorcycle accident and I can proudly say she made a positive impact on not only myself but on the world as well. Losing her changed me forever. I have always been an artist, but not a categorized music artist until about 2016/2017. I aspire to creatively direct, edit my own videos, and produce some of my own beats all on my own within music career, eventually. Before blossoming into an artist, I had been a student-athlete for most of my life. I have played basketball since I was four years old and it has taken me to a lot of places, including to a NCAA D1 school.

Within that experience, I had opportunities to meet all kinds of people. Hoop paid my way through College and kept me out of a lot because I used to be a hothead. Born and raised in Inglewood, CA but I’ve lived all around the neighboring cities of LA. All in all, music has always been around me and in me. Back in the 70’s my grandfather, who just passed away August 3rd of 2020, was a DJ for KjLH so I’ve always been around a lot of musical knowledge. From taking chorus classes for three years and singing in plays & musicals to playing instruments. I also occasionally work on a book that I started writing when my mother passed. It tells short stories about my life as encouragement to others. I feel like everyone goes through things, but I can only give you my struggle and stories word for word, feel for feel, and they need to be heard. I plan to turn this book into a movie script and go from there. I have always loved to write as well and been great at it. In my spare time, I work with older and disabled people doing in-home caregiving. I wouldn’t really call it spare time because I’m always busy. My life is full of events, good and bad. I have experienced losses of those close to me that most don’t experience at such a young age, but those hard times have turned me into the strongest person I know.

Great, so let’s dig a little deeper into the story – has it been an easy path overall and if not, what were the challenges you’ve had to overcome?
My life has been a whole lot of struggle since birth but my mother always found a way for my family and I. Growing up an only child watching the ways of a single mother and one that really cared for her child and family has provided me with lots of strength and abilities that others search a lifetime within Themselves for. I grew up in Inglewood, California but bounced back-and-forth to the east side of town as well. Until I got to high school and my mother and I moved to Culver City. Although living on these sides of town, my mother put me in school in the other neighborhoods such as Marina Del Rey, Venice and Culver City. For that, I am a more well-rounded person, I know how to be in all kinds of groups and communities.

For a second when I was younger, my mother and my family and I were in and out of hotels. I remembered having a Christmas tree made out of a lamp with lights on it in our hotel room one year. But you’d never be able to tell because of the way my mom kept me up. And still under that lamp tree were gifts. I had everything a fortunate kid would and some. I was also spoiled being an old child with both grandparents and my uncle. My mom worked really hard to get us out of poverty, and without having to do a single that degraded herself as a woman or others around her. So hard that the kids at the higher up schools would even call me privileged because of the material things that I could show for, not knowing how hard they were worked for. My grandmother is a two time cancer survivor so growing up, I watched her go through that a lot. My papa who just passed away August 3rd of 2020 was a good man, funny and love-able just like my mom he had many friends throughout his life, not an enemy in sight. Today my grandmother and uncle are all I have left and she works hard to make sure I’m always well taken care of.

At 70 years old, she still handles all her own business and for the most part takes care of my uncle who has bone marrow cancer and is also diabetic now. Life has thrown my family crazy curve balls but so how we manage to still find light and survive throughout it all. It hurts but you have to keep pushing. I can never stop. And for these reasons music has been my biggest motivation for expression. I have a lot to talk about. On the flip side, I’ve had lots of ups too. I had a great mother which lots of people don’t get to experience at all, the same goes for my grandfather who I called my papa, he was like a father to me and I took care of him as such and medically as his in home care worker. Hoop allowed me to become well-traveled and meet so many different people and make different connections around the world and gave me an outlet for all my pain. Now I’ve been connected to the music in a way like no other for my release of everything that I’ve been through. Also can still be grateful for the family that I do have left. Not sure where’d I’d be without my grandmother, I pray to God he doesn’t take her away from me before I’m able to show her and do all things that will make her life completely comfortable and stress-free.

We’d love to hear more about your work and what you are currently focused on. What else should we know?
I never limit myself to just one thing in life or one hobby. I’ve come to find that I’m great in a lot of areas so I tend to try new things a lot. But overall, I’ve realized that I like to help people medically on the business scale of life. So I’ll eventually end up going through nursing school and seeing what it is specifically id like to do out of it. I also come from a family line of nurses so it fits the genes. Within everything I like to do, I love to make music about it all combined and what has gotten me to feel all these emotions and want to do the things that I do. So it’s my favorite hobby. But I’ll never stop striving for greatness in all aspects of my life. The goal is to create and everlasting platform of love involving everything I love to do with everyone I love to do it with. Keep it all in the family and you can never go wrong.

Is there a characteristic or quality that you feel is essential to success?
Loving others, expressing myself and knowing God are all characteristics I believe I need to strive for, achieve and master for my road to success.

Contact Info:

  • Email: remygirljun@gmail.com
  • Instagram: JunOfficially
  • Twitter: @junofficially

Suggest a story: VoyageLA is built on recommendations from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you or someone you know deserves recognition please let us know here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in