Connect
To Top

Meet D.Harmon

Today we’d like to introduce you to D.Harmon.

D.Harmon, please share your story with us. How did you get to where you are today?
I’m an American/European rapper, singer and songwriter. I was born in Little Rock, Arkansas, but raised in Luxembourg by my Portuguese mother. I began creating music in my bedroom at 17 before I started recording at my friend Skreno’s home studio. I gained recognition as a rapper in Europe by opening up for renowned music artists like the New Boyz, Mario, Fat Joe, Ace Hood, Kid Ink, YG and Rae Sremmurd.

After releasing my “Value Of Time” mixtape in 2016, I decided to take my vision to the next level. The following year I moved to Austin, Texas to study audio production while pursuing my music career in a new terrain. In 2019 I dropped my “Value Of Time 2” project and multiple music videos. While working on my new EP, I’ve released singles like “Facts” and “Times”. After performing all over Austin, I became an official SXSW 2020 artist before it got canceled due to COVID-19.

When I’m not working on my first love, I’m perfecting my second passion, skateboarding. When I’m not skateboarding, I’m most likely having a good time with family and friends.

Great, so let’s dig a little deeper into the story – has it been an easy path overall and if not, what were the challenges you’ve had to overcome?
Luxembourg is one of the smallest countries in the world, so no matter how much support I got, I knew it wasn’t enough to achieve my goals. I didn’t leave because I wanted to, I left because I needed to and I miss my loved ones every day but I know it will pay off.

The hardest part has been moving back to the US and having to adapt to a culture I didn’t know as well as I thought I did. It also took me about a year to find new people I could trust and build a solid team to grow with.

2020 started amazing for me, but COVID-19 has become a big obstacle because I’m not able to network, perform and shoot videos. Besides, I can’t visit my family and friends in Europe because of the travel ban. Then again, this gives me a lot of time to create new records as long as the inspiration lasts.

We’d love to hear more about your work and what you are currently focused on. What else should we know?
I’m a rapper/singer living in Austin, TX and I believe my strength is versatility. I believe I can easily adapt to different beats or genres which makes it simple for me to record different types of songs. You can listen to songs like “Best Friend” and hear happiness or listen to songs like “Facts” and feel ambition.

I would say I’m known for my aura. You’ll feel the energy listening to my work sitting at home, watching me perform and in person. I believe in the law of attraction, so I try my best to put out what I expect in return. I can’t expect someone to like my songs if they can’t hear I gave it my all, I can’t expect someone to pay for a show and not give them a performance and I can’t expect anyone to support me if I don’t show love.

Sometimes I sit back and realize I’m doing what I said I would. I remember telling everyone I was going to move to pursue my music career and I’m very far from being where I want to be, but I’m proud every time I realize I have my own apartment, my first car, and I’m making music in America. It kind of became my first “I told you” moment and honestly, sometimes I feel like I’m not grateful enough. I’ve grown lyrically and recording myself over the past two years has helped me find my own sound, so I could never regret making that sacrifice.

I’ve always been ambitious but I’ve never been this hungry and I believe people are starting to notice. What sets me apart is knowing I’m a fish in the ocean, but understanding there’s enough food for everyone. There’s millions of music artists, but there’s also millions of people ready to show love. That’s why I don’t see other artists as competition, I see them as motivation and I think that we can reach our destination quicker by helping each other.

Do you look back particularly fondly on any memories from childhood?
As a kid, I would visit my father nearly every summer, but when I wasn’t in Texas, I was in Portugal with my grandmother. It would just be both of us for two months and I remember her taking me to the local skatepark in Valongo as much as I wanted. She would watch me fall back to back and be my biggest fan every time I landed a trick. She cooked for me every day and got me anything I asked for. Basically, she would spoil me and say “Don’t tell anyone, only you and grandma need to know ’bout this.”

Contact Info:

Image Credit:
Black and white striped shirt (Horizontal): @rashadxwhite; Black outfit: @mozancreations; Baby blue t-shirt: @mozancreations; Blue and white striped shirt: @mozancreations; Red and white outfit: @glowprince; Grey outfit: @vqz.visualz; Black and white striped shirt (Vertical): @_semaj3; Performance picture: @moriii.kalon.images

Suggest a story: VoyageLA is built on recommendations from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you or someone you know deserves recognition please let us know here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in