Connect
To Top

Check Out Arturo Arevalo’s Story

Today we’d like to introduce you to Arturo Arevalo.

Hi Arturo, so excited to have you with us today. What can you tell us about your story?

I was born and raised in the East Los Angeles area to an immigrant single mother in Section 8 housing supported with food stamps. I didn’t own a car until I was 24 years old and I had to learn to navigate many things on my own without any male role models. Despite the struggles I faced growing up in the “hood”, I never let that determine who I was nor who I would become one day. I never liked having excuses for any shortcomings. Being involved in sports growing up kept me out of serious trouble when hanging out with “homies”. I would still receive poor grades in school(academic probation) for not being focused and hanging with the wrong crowd. As I saw all my homies getting kicked out of school or dropping out, I decided to make a change within myself. I then learned about discipline and hard work and ended up breaking my high school Cross Country/ Track records and ran my first attempted LA marathon under 3 hours. As I became the Team Captain and a leader on campus, I wanted to do better for myself, become educated, and make it out of the hood. I made the decision to miss my official HS graduation and grad night experience since I was the only athlete from my school to go compete at the State Championships and it landed on the same dates. Luckily, my school amazingly organized a private graduation ceremony without telling me just for me and I was able to walk in a cap/gown and give a mic speech on the spot in front of my whole senior class. My family showed up and I got to take pictures with friends afterwards. Moments like this are ones you are grateful for and you don’t ever forget. I was then able to go on to college as a first-generation to earn my bachelor’s degree and run Cross Country and Track (4:11 Mile PR) at the NCAA varsity collegiate level. Collegiate running was a great experience that took me to 10 U.S states and I was able to be a 2x National participant, 4x All-Conference, All-Region Athlete and Dean’s list student. I also got involved in several leadership opportunities while on campus in my spare time while not training.

I then got the opportunity to study Fashion Marketing & Luxury in London and International Marketing in Costa Rica. Going on my own for a year to see the world for the first time really changed me as a person for the better. It opened my eyes to what’s out in the world and outside my bubble where I grew up. Some of my passions include Men’s fashion, fitness, acting, Aztec dancing, and travel which has taken me to 15 countries to date. Some of my travel adventures have included riding a camel and sleeping in the Sahara Desert in Morocco, descending deep inside a Volcano Magma Chamber larger than the Statue of Liberty in Iceland, exploring lava/ice caves, and exploring the luxury island of Santorini in Greece.

I am now a rising Influencer and Latino (Mexican) Digital creator on social media who enjoys creating fun content and inspiring others along the way. I keep a seven day workout routine focused more on weightlifting and I enjoy running hills for cardio days. I also created a website www.Travelinginfashion.com where I write blog articles on Men’s fashion, travel, lifestyle topics, and offer image consulting for men wanting to step up their style game. I have worked with several brands doing affiliate marketing and brand partnerships promoting their products online. Besides working on my website and creating social media content, I also work in the Influencer space professionally working with different clients/brands managing their influencer campaigns across all social media channels.

I’m sure you wouldn’t say it’s been obstacle free, but so far would you say the journey have been a fairly smooth road?
Growing up was not a smooth road and it still isn’t. I was faced with family financial issues, lack of male role models, and a lack of direction. I had to figure out many things out on my own as a first-generation and missed out on several athletic/educational opportunities due to a lack of finances. I moved out at 18 to go to college and have been out on my own since. I would take the bus everywhere until I turned 24. I also would help my mother out whenever I could. Breaking into the tech industry as a Latino always comes with its own challenges. The struggle has always motivated me to have discipline and work hard in everything I put my mind to. I am self-driven to reach my goals despite any obstacles that stand before me. I have come a long way but I feel like I am just getting started!

Thanks for sharing that. So, maybe next you can tell us a bit more about your work?
I create lifestyle and travel content anytime I travel which is often. I offer image consulting for men who want to improve their style and lifestyle games. I also work with brands on promoting their product or service on my social media channels. I specialize in influencer marketing, men’s fashion and travel. I am best known for my style and always traveling around to new cities and countries. That is how I got my name for my website Traveling in Fashion since I live by that. I am most proud of being able to see the world on my own at a young age and creating my own brand image. What sets me apart from others would be my own unique style, travel experiences, and perspectives on things. In the future, I plan on making YouTube videos, come out in some independent films and create some digital products to offer on my website. I consider myself a lifelong learner and keep myself educated on various business topics/opportunities.

What was your favorite childhood memory?
Favorite childhood memories are hanging out with my whole family in Mexico from my grandma, cousins to my aunts and uncles. My mother would take me as a kid and it would take 2 days to get there by bus. I would only see them every couple of years growing up so the memories are more meaningful. My family is small in the U.S but large in Mexico so just having a good time with each other and going on random adventures goes a long way. I stay connected to my roots and don’t forget where I come from. It’s the little details that make a difference.

Contact Info:

Suggest a Story: VoyageLA is built on recommendations from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you or someone you know deserves recognition please let us know here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in local stories